Solid Waste Advisory Committee


  • 3 to 5 pm
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month
  • Douglas County Courthouse

    1036 SE Douglas Avenue
    Room 310
    Roseburg, OR 97470


  • Levi Huffman, Chair
  • Ellen Porter
  • Jess Terrel

Ex-Officio Members

  • Scott Adams, Public Works Director (non-voting)
  • Joshua Shaklee, Planning Department Director

Member Information

The SWAC consists of seven voting members and nonvoting members as follows:

  • The county planning director or their designated representative shall be an ex-officio voting member.
  • Six county citizens appointed by the Board as voting members (vacancy notices are posted on the County homepage.
  • The administrator and a representative of the department is an ex-officio nonvoting member.
  • Franchise haulers may designate a representative to serve as a nonvoting member.


The term of the SWAC members is as follows:

  • Voting members, other than the planning director serve four years.
  • Ex-officio members serve for indefinite terms until they are removed by the Board or resign.
  • Representatives of franchisee haulers serve as nonvoting members as long as the franchise is in effect.

About the Committee

Douglas County's Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) is an advisory body with the authority to assist and advise the County Commissioners (the Board) on solid waste management.

For additional information on SWAC and County solid waste rules, please view Division II - Solid Waste Disposal of County Code Title 13, Public Services (PDF).